Issues with 1Wire

StefanBlohm
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:55 am

Issues with 1Wire

Postby StefanBlohm » Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:13 pm

Hello I still have problems with the sensors. After a while (6 hours) I lost connection and the system found new probes. But I don't have these probs.
My last test was with only one, with 4.7k Ohms, on the PI. No extra wire, only the probe with the 30cm cable.
The only change what I made was, I change the PI3 to an PI2.
When I connect 2 probes for test the disconnection goes faster.
Here are the logs:

Heating The temperature probe 28-000200272adb was disconnected 2016-12-04 16:15
Heating New temperature probe was found: 28-800000272adb 2016-12-04 00:35


Is not one of the 3 probe:
Heating The temperature probe 28-120401800800 was disconnected 2016-12-03 17:41

Is not one of the 3 probe:
Heating The temperature probe 28-940000000007 was disconnected 2016-12-03 15:05
User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: Issues with 1Wire

Postby David » Sun Dec 04, 2016 10:24 pm

Hi,

Does it work with the pi2? Could you send me a photo of the wiring to info@raspberry-solutions.co.uk ?

David
Kris
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:45 pm

Re: Issues with 1Wire

Postby Kris » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:14 pm

Hello, I have similar problem with my temperature probes. At first try few mounth ago, everything worked fine even with 3m wire probes from e-bay.
I didn't use my pi therm for a while and now when I tried to connect everything together it does not recognise temperature probes.
I tried many configurations - with one probe, original an aftermarket, measured all GPIO voltage everything looks fine
Could it be some software issue, should I need reinstall Raspbian or reset PiTHerm?

Thanks!
User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: Issues with 1Wire

Postby David » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:26 pm

Hi Kris,

You can try to download Pitherm from our web page and reactivate it again, but I think, that is not a software issue..

Could you try to open file: sys/bus/w1/devices/foldername/w1_slave
where foldername is an id of your temp. probe (it looks like 28-XXXXXXXXXXXX). If there isn't any temp. probe folder or you are not able to open w1_slave file, then there is a problem with wiring/connection/temp probes.

David
Kris
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:45 pm

Re: Issues with 1Wire

Postby Kris » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:04 pm

I opened the file, but there wasn't probe file 28-xxxxxxxxxxxx, only some other 00-xxxxxxxxxxx files and master file
I double checked my wiring, there was 3.3v, ground and resistor shows 4,7 kOhm resistance. I have 10 aftermarket probes + 3 PiTherm probes and none of them are working
I even tried to find and test probe via Terminal, but without any success
Everything else on software, like commands and relays are functioning fine
Maybe I will try to make a fresh installation and reactivate PiTHerm
User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: Issues with 1Wire

Postby David » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:31 pm

Or maybe there is a problem with your raspberry pi / fried GPIO4 (if you shorted it with 5v). Pi therm retrieves all temperatures from that file. So if the folder is empty, I am sure, there isn't any problem with Pi therm

David
Kris
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:45 pm

Re: Issues with 1Wire

Postby Kris » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:41 pm

Is it possible to connect DATA wire to some other GPIO?
User avatar
David
Site Admin
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2016 8:22 pm

Re: Issues with 1Wire

Postby David » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:06 pm

you can find some tutorials on the Internet..I have tried to change the gpio once, but it didn't work for me...

David

Return to “Connections”